History in the Making

August 29, 2008 at 3:53 am (Uncategorized) (, )

I wasn’t planning on making this a terribly personal blog, but I do feel compelled to write about the DNC and Obama’s speech tonight.  I haven’t really felt like writing anything original lately so I thought I’d get this down while still fresh in my mind.  I have to start by saying that I don’t think his speech was that impressive really.  I mean it was good, but compared to the stuff we’re used to hearing for the past 8 years that doesn’t mean much.  I think it was just so damn monumental.  I have almost always been an Obama supporter.  Except in 2004 when he was running for senate and I used to laugh at the signs people had on their lawns with his name on them because I thought it was a joke.  Seriously.  So, I suppose I should say I have been an Obama supporter since he began running for president. 

I feel, like many other Americans, that the past 8 years have been a big step backward for our country and for humanity in general.  And Obama, this black guy with almost no experience, doesn’t necessarily seem like he would be the most likely candidate, as he said in his speech, but there’s something about him that screams “trust me!”. 

 I read his book, “The Dreams of Our Fathers”, which gave me some insight into his life growing up.   I definitely see him more like an “average” American than any of the other candidates.  He struggled growing up, and wasn’t admitted to Harvard because of who his parents were.  He actually worked for it.  <insert Gasp from all the WASPs>

I think it’s because of his everyman vibe that I feel he is a symbol of hope for so many Americans.  I remember the election in 2004 and feeling so incredibly depressed when Bush won.  I gave up on our country and the American people, thinking, why would they do this again?   I became ashamed of my home, especially since I had just returned from a semester abroad and found out just how much the rest of the world hated us.  When I was in Europe, we were actually instructed to tell locals that we were from Canada to avoid any altercations.  I also saw some interesting graffiti, many of which contained a combo of Bush’s face and Mickey Mouse with obscenities scrawled underneath in Italian. I suppose I feel so emotional about Obama because it is the first time I’ve really felt hope for America in a long time. 

I was watching the crowd during his speech and people were crying.  CRYING.  Like Beatlemania for Gods sake.  I teared up too a few times and I’m not ashamed to admit it. There were all kinds of people in the crowd – black, white, old, young.  I know it sounds like I’ve fallen for the political jargon (and I probably have), but to me it seemed like this really was the definition of unity.  People from all different backgrounds gathering in one place to listen to this guy speak.  Although, to them, he isn’t just a guy.  He is almost like a savior, a messiah of sorts.   I just know that I was deeply touched by what happened tonight and I felt in my heart that something major was happening.  And by the tears of those who were in the audience, they felt it too.

Leave a Reply

