Full Circle

November 10, 2008 at 3:11 am (Uncategorized)

So, we have a new president!  Thank the lord.  Hallelujah.  I will definitely write more about Barack in later posts but I wanted to post one more personal entry.  As I mentioned in my earlier entry, my grandma past away about 3 weeks ago.  In the past month I have felt hollow, unimagineable grief, but  I have also felt so much joy and awe that I could burst.

The following is the first reading that I read at my grandma’s funeral and memorial mass:

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every purpose under heaven:

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,

3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,

5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,

6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,

7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,

8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

9 What does the worker gain from his toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on men. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

While I am not deeply religious, these words hold great truths for me. There is a time for everything, good, bad and everything in between.  There is a time to be born and a time to die.  My grandmother died just 2 months after becoming a great grandmother.  There is a time to mourn and a time to dance.  I mourned her loss with all of my heart and then danced with my soul when Obama was elected.  I cried for both things, but for very different reasons.  If Omi was here, she would have cried tears of joy too, she loved this country more than anyone I knew because of all the opportunities it gave her.

As a final thought, I was reading an article called “20 Life Lessons from Obama’s Win” in the Chicago Tribune. First lesson:

1. Joy and grief sometimes collide.  Barack’s grandmother passed away just days before he won the election.  While my heart is filled with hope and happiness in our new America, I also mourn for the loss of a great woman, my own grandmother. Two intense emotions on either end of the spectrum, all within the same month.  There certainly is a time for every purpose under heaven.

Leave a Reply

