Geez

September 22, 2009 at 8:24 pm (Uncategorized)

I am in my 3rd week of student teaching and all I can say is….what?  I can’t really decipher all the feelings or questions and concerns swirling around in my head, but I know that they are generally negative.  I know that I am a new teacher and thus, idealistic.  I also know what “best practices” are and what “developmentally appropriate” means.  Based on my 2.5 years of masters education, I’m pretty sure that what I’m seeing now does not fit into any good category.  The only thing the kids are really learning now is how to stand in line with their hands at their sides – which they still don’t really know since we have to practice it every single time they stand in line.  The kids are constantly being yelled at for not paying attention, there are a lot of kids who don’t know numbers or the alphabet (!).  The kids are not learning at all and there is so much yelling.  Not from me.  From the main teacher.  Yikes, this is not good.

Leave a Reply

