words

December 18, 2009 at 12:21 am (Uncategorized)

some people wear their smile
like a disguise
those people who smile a lot
watch the eyes
i know it ‘cuz i’m like that a lot
you think everything’s okay
and it is
’til it’s not

outta me, onto you…

no more

some people wear their heart
up on their sleeve
i wear mine underneath my right pant leg
strapped to my boot
don’t think cause i’m easy, i’m naive
don’t think i won’t pull it out
don’t think i won’t shoot

outta me, onto you…

~Ani DiFranco

So, is that what you call a getaway?
Tell me what you got away with.
Cause I’ve seen more spine in jellyfish.
I’ve seen more guts in eleven-year-old kids.
Have another drink and drive yourself home.
I hope there’s ice on all the roads.
And you can think of me when you forget your seatbelt,
and again when your head goes through the windshield.

And is that what you call tact?
You’re as subtle as a brick in the small of my back.
So let’s end this call, and end this conversation.
and is that what you call a getaway?
well tell me what you got away with.
cause you left the frays from the ties you severed
when you say best friends means friends forever

-Brand New 70 x 7

Leave a Reply

